Chocolate Mug Cake with Healthy Frosting

I had a serious craving for chocolate today, so I decided to look for something to make. Obviously Chocolate Covered Katie was the first place I looked.  

I’ve seen recipes for mug cakes all over the place, but this is the first one I’ve tried.  This One Minute Chocolate Cake was easy and so delicious!

Here it is:

  • 1 tablespoon plus 2 tsp cocoa powder
  • 3 tablespoons spelt flour (or white, or Arrowhead Mills gf)
  • 1/8 tsp salt
  • 2 tsp sugar or evaporated cane juice (edit: xylitol works as well)
  • 1/4 tsp baking powder
  • 1 stevia packet (or 1 tablespoon more sugar)
  • 2-3 tsp coconut oil or vegetable oil (Edit: many commenters have said it still tastes good if you sub applesauce or mashed banana. But I can’t personally vouch for the results if you make that substitution.)
  • 3 tablespoons milk of choice (I used almond milk)
  • 1/2 tsp pure vanilla extract

Mug cake recipe: Combine dry ingredients and mix very, very well. Add liquid, stir, then transfer to a little dish, ramekin, or even a coffee mug. Microwave 30-40 seconds. If you don’t want to eat it straight out of the dish, be sure to spray your dish first (and then wait for it to cool before trying to remove it).

* I made my cake directly in the mug, and then put it on a plate – remember to use cooking spray if you do this!Image

 

The Chocolate Covered Katie page links to a Reeses Pieces Fudge Frosting that I made to top my little cake.  

 

  • 1/4 cup peanut butter (or other nut butter)
  • 4-8 tsp pure maple syrup (I used agave syrup)
  • 2 tbsp cocoa powder
  • 4 tsp milk of choice (or more for thinner frosting)
  • 3/4 tsp pure vanilla extract
  • optional: handful of chocolate chips (the “pieces”)

Blend everything (including chips, if using) in a small food processor or Magic Bullet. If you have a bigger processor, it might be best to double the recipe so everything blends more smoothly. Best to store uneaten frosting covered in the fridge.

Image

Yum! I added a few chocolate chips and raspberries for a little extra flavor (and it made it look cuter).  

The cake is super rich, and there is no way I could have eaten more than that little mug size!  The cake on its own has about 205 calories with oil (140 if you use a substitute), 5.5g protein, and 6.5g fiber.  The frosting has about 55 calories per 15g serving. 

This is definitely worth a try! Let me know what you think!

🙂

A.G.

One thought on “Chocolate Mug Cake with Healthy Frosting

Leave a comment